Skip to content

Day Five – The Holistic GPS system and Celtic dancing

July 3, 2010

Today we set off for the Dancing Goat. However, somehow we missed it. I was driving and prefer the Holistic GPS approach i.e. Let the car drive you and you will probably end up where you will have wanted to go without knowing it. You’ll end end exactly where you want to be for what would seem on the surface to be all the wrong reasons. So, we found the Ceilidh trail. It’s pronounced Kay-lee, since the Gaelic language has rather unique pronunciation rules. English phonetics be damned!

By 12:00pm, we arrived at the Glenora distillery. They make single malt whiskey there and have a lovely restaurant on site. I had the special of the day, Panko and herb crusted trout and caesar salad. It was good and fresh. Though I had ordered fries instead of the salad. Then we did a tour of the facilities. Quite an interesting process and a gorgeous set of buildings.

After that we came upon the Red Shoe Pub around 2:15pm. It’s owned by the the Rankin Sisters. I had Rhubarb galette and tea. Stef had the Gingerbread. Dessert was very good, the service not so much. We waited for about ten minutes as the two girls at the counter ignored us. One of them finally came over took our order and we waited; then a man took over our table. (I assume that he was supposed to have been there in the first place. When the tea arrived, it came with one sugar for both of us. When we asked for more, he brought one more packet.

We stopped at a place called the Galloping Cow. (See — a theme.) They make jams, preserves, and spreads. We were greeted by a very friendly Shepherd-cross dog named Dash. She was looking very grey around the mouth as they had got her from the humane society about eight years ago.

As we rounded the trail by Port Hood, we found a beach. I took off my socks and runners, and walked into the water as Stef went to investigate down the beach. I found beautiful water with rocks piled up in the sand and Stef saw a fossil.

When we returned to the motel. We didn’t know where to eat dinner so I went to the owner of the place and asked her. She recommended the Silver Dart Lodge and afterwards the Baddeck Gathering Ceilidh. (That oddly pronounced word means party.) At the lodge, I had maple salmon and twice baked potato. Very good and the view of Baddeck Bay was incredible.

The ceilidh was a blast. Jennifer Bowman and Michael Hall were the entertainers. They we both excellent and fun. They explained the music to the audience as well and kept us entertained. After the first song, they asked for volunteers to try out some Celtic Dancing. I waited but when the audience was silent for a while, so I got up to get the ball rolling. Finally, another seven volunteered. Wow, was it fun; a bit confusing but we had a laugh. A few in the audience asked if I had danced before! To which I responded I love dance, have natural rhythm, and as an actor, can fake it. I recorded some snippets of the songs and will post them when I get back. Not the best lighting until the last two songs.

Tomorrow, we will be taking it easy. So the blog will be short and not very eventful.

Have fun!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley permalink
    July 3, 2010 11:27 pm

    Judi wants a goat, I would like a clucking hen. Hope you guys are having fun..
    See you soon
    Bookstore girls

  2. Shelley permalink
    July 4, 2010 1:37 am

    As I am sure you can guess..It’s Jackie that would like the clucking hen!! Sounds like you both are having a great time..soak it all in and enjoy every second!!

    • July 4, 2010 5:20 pm

      Sadly, I don’t think they will allow live animals in carry on luggage. Shelley, Have fun on your holiday! See you when I get back, Judi!

  3. July 4, 2010 2:57 am

    I was at your place from 1-4:30 today.
    I cleaned the kitchen…just the kitchen!
    But boy does it shine!
    expiry dates are your friend!
    Michael

  4. judi permalink
    July 5, 2010 6:03 pm

    I want a galloping cow!

Leave a Reply

